Established: 1790, as Washington County, Massachusetts from part of Lincoln County

County seat: Machias

39 Towns & 2 Cities: Cities are Calais and Eastport; Towns are Addison, Alexander, Baileyville, Beals, Beddington, Charlotte, Cherryfield, Columbia, Columbia Falls, Cooper, Crawford, Cutler, Danforth, Deblois, Dennysville, East Machias, Harrington, Jonesboro, Jonesport, Lubec, Machias, Machiasport, Marshfield, Meddybemps, Milbridge, Northfield, Pembroke, Perry, Princeton, Robbinston, Roque Bluffs, Steuben, Talmadge, Topsfield, Vanceboro, Waite, Wesley, Whiting, Whitneyville. 

Area: 3,255 sq miles


Explore Region Resource (includes parts of Washington County and Hancock County) Website: 

Note: This page to grow with features and news throughout 2019-2020.