Established: 1809, as Somerset County, Massachusetts from parts of Kennebec County

County seat: Skowhegan

Area: 4,095 sq miles

27 Towns: Anson, Athens, Bingham, Cambridge, Canaan, Caratunk, Cornville, Detroit, Embden, Fairfield, Harmony, Hartland, Jackman, Madison, Mercer, Moose River, Moscow, New Portland, Norridgewock, Palmyrya, Pittsfield, Ripley, Skowhegan, Smithfield, Solon, St. Albans, Starks.


Explore the Region Resource (includes parts of Somerset County and Kennebec County) Website:

Somerset County celebrated its Bicentennial (as a county) in 2009. Visit their Bicentennial link to see and hear celebration reflections.

Note: This page to grow with features and news throughout 2019-2020.