Established: 1816 as Penobscot County, Massachusetts from part of Hancock County

County seat: Bangor

52 Towns & 3 Cities: Cities are Bangor, Brewer, Old Town; Towns are Alton, Bradford, Bradley, Burlington, Carmel, Charleston, Chester, Clifton, Corinna, Corinth, Dexter, Dixmont, East Millinocket, Eddington, Edinburg, Enfield, Etna, Exeter, Garland, Glenburn, Greenbush, Hampden, Hermon, Holden, Howland, Hudson, Kenduskeag, Lagrange, Lakeville, Lee, Levant, Lincoln, Lowell, Mattawamkeag, Maxfield, Medway, Milford, Millinocket, Mount Chase, Newburgh, Newport, Orono, Torrington, Passadumkeag, Patten, Plymouth, Springfield, Stacyville, Stetson, Veazie, Winn, Woodville. 

Area: 3,556 sq miles


Explore the Region Resource (includes parts of Penobscot County and Piscataquis County) Website:

Note: This page to grow with features and news throughout 2019-2020.