Established: 1860, from parts of Lincoln and Waldo Counties

County seat: Rockland

16 Towns & 1 City: City is Rockland; Towns are Appleton, Camden, Cushing, Friendship, Hope, Isle Au Haut, North Haven, Owls Head, Rockport, South Thomaston, St. George, Thomaston, Union, Vinalhaven, Warren and Washington. 

Area: 1,142 sq miles

Banner Photograph: Owl's Head Light - first lighted September 10, 1825. First light keeper: Isaac Stearns

Note: This page to grow with features and news throughout 2019-2020. 


Stories discovered while making the documentary film, Shape Of Love: 200 Years In Maine