Banner Map: Hubbard, Lucius Lee, "Map of Northern Maine. Specially Adapted to the Uses of Lumbermen and Sportsmen" (1899). Maine Bicentennial. 20.
Note: From the main navigation menu under the Counties heading, you can access a page with information about each Maine county, as well as a page dedicated to the Wabanaki Nations.

Did you know...

When Maine became a State on March 15, 1820, it had only 9 counties.  The map below was published in 1824 and shows how Maine's borders looked just after the time of Statehood. 

The nine counties at the time of Statehood were: York, Lincoln, Cumberland, Oxford, Kennebec, Somerset, Penobscot, Hancock and Washington.

York, Lincoln and Cumberland counties had the largest populations and accounted for nearly half of the State's population (almost 300,000 in total) at the time. 

The seven counties established after Statehood:

Waldo (1827)    

Franklin (1838)  Piscataquis (1838)

Aroostook (1839)    

Androscoggin (1854)  Sagadahoc (1854)    

Knox (1860)

*Resource for population statistics: Tanner, Henry Schenck, "A New Map of Maine by H.S. Tanner" (1833). Maine Bicentennial. 27.

A Childhood Introduction

It wasn't until a family from Aroostook County moved into my neighborhood in Cumberland County that I discovered  I didn't know much about Maine's counties. The kids from Aroostook knew the names of all 16. I knew mine and the one we drove through to get to Boston.

Thanks to my two new friends showing me where they came from in Aroostook County, I became another kid in Cumberland County who could name all 16 and show you where they were on the Maine map. 

That was years ago, but learning about Maine and its geography is as much fun now as it was then.

If you're curious about the counties, this section of the website will expand in 2019 through 2020, with resources, links, features and more. 


Resource: Lucas, Fielding, "[Map of] Maine" (1824). Maine Bicentennial. 30. To learn more about the map, visit the University of Maine's Bicentennial special collection at